

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

December 5, 2019

To: Shima Abadi Assistant Professor – UW Bothell – School of STEM

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Lance Bennett Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Eliot Brenowitz Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division

Elizabeth Buffalo Associate Professor – School of Medicine

Betsy Evans Associate Professor – Associate Professor – College of Arts & Sciences – Humanities Division

Amy Hagopian Professor – School of Public Health

Susan Harewood Associate Professor – UW Bothell – School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Anne Hirsch Associate Professor – School of Nursing Brinda Jegatheesan Associate Professor – College of Education

Kalei Kanuha Senior Lecturer & Asst Dean – School of Social Work

Patricia Kuszler Professor – School of Law

Ken-Yu Lin Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

Mark Long Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

William McGuire Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Rene Overney Professor – College of Engineering
Tracy Popowics Associate Professor – School of Dentistry

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Emma Spiro Assistant Professor – Information School Riki Thompson Associate Professor – UW Tacoma

Patrick Tobin Associate Professor – College of the Environment

Dan Turner Associate Dean – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Mohamed Ali Director of Graduate Studies – UW Tacoma – ex-officio

Giuliana Conti President – GPSS ex-officio

Tony English Academic Partnership Management Director – Continuum College – ex-officio Nancy Huling Head, Reference & Research Services Division – UW Libraries – ex-officio

Matt McKeown Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

Gino Aisenberg Associate Dean for Diversity and Student Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio
William Mahoney Associate Dean for Student and Postdoctoral Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean of the Graduate School

AGENDA

Graduate School Council Meeting for Thursday, December 5, 2019 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm - HUB 332

2:30 – 2:45 pm **Public Scholarship Graduate Certificate**

Five-year Report

Riki Thompson will present the Council summary.

2:45 – 3:00 pm School of Medicine—Department of Biomedical Informatics and Medical

Education (BIME) Program Review

Anne Hirsch will present the Council summary.

3:00 – 3:15 pm College of Arts and Sciences—Department of Philosophy

Program Review

Pat Kuszler will present in place of former Council members Deb Kamen and

Valerie Manusov.

3:15 – 3:30 pm College of Arts and Sciences—Jackson School of International Studies

Program Review

Anne Hirsch and Will McGuire will present the Council summary.

3:30 pm **Graduate Council Adjourns**

3:30 pm **Policy Committee Convenes**

3:30 – 4:00 pm **Graduate School Memo 15** (Kima Cargill)

The Graduate School Council Policy Committee will consider requested changes to Graduate School Memo 15: Conditions of Appointment for TAs who are not Native Speakers of English.

*Note: Due to the University holiday, you will receive the January 9th agenda on Monday, January 5, 2020.

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Rovy Branon, Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate

- 5. Mark Richards, Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Mary E. Lidstrom, Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty