

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

November 21, 2019

To: Shima Abadi Assistant Professor – UW Bothell – School of STEM

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Lance Bennett Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social

Sciences Division

Eliot Brenowitz Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division

Elizabeth Buffalo Associate Professor – School of Medicine

Betsy Evans Associate Professor – Associate Professor – College of Arts & Sciences – Humanities Division

Amy Hagopian Professor – School of Public Health

Susan Harewood Associate Professor – UW Bothell – School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Anne Hirsch Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Brinda Jegatheesan Associate Professor – College of Education

Kalei Kanuha Senior Lecturer & Asst Dean – School of Social Work

Patricia Kuszler Professor – School of Law

Ken-Yu Lin Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

Mark Long Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

William McGuire Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Rene Overney Professor – College of Engineering
Tracy Popowics Associate Professor – School of Dentistry

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Emma Spiro Assistant Professor – Information School Riki Thompson Associate Professor – UW Tacoma

Patrick Tobin Associate Professor – College of the Environment

Dan Turner Associate Dean – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Mohamed Ali Director of Graduate Studies – UW Tacoma – ex-officio

Giuliana Conti President – GPSS ex-officio

Tony English Academic Partnership Management Director – Continuum College – ex-officio Nancy Huling Head, Reference & Research Services Division – UW Libraries – ex-officio

Matt McKeown Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

Gino Aisenberg Associate Dean for Diversity and Student Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio
William Mahoney Associate Dean for Student and Postdoctoral Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean of the Graduate School

AGENDA

Graduate School Council Meeting for Thursday, November 21, 2019 2:30 pm to 4:30 pm - HUB 332

2:30 – 3:00 pm **New Proposal: Doctor of Philosophy in Global Health Metrics & Implementation Science**

Council will consider a proposal from the Department of Global Health and the Department of Health Metrics Sciences to jointly offer the Doctor of Philosophy in Global Health Metrics and Implementation Science, which is an existing degree in the Department of Global Health. Kenny Sherr will represent the Department of Global Health and Emmanuela Gakidou will represent the Department of Health Metrics Sciences. John Slattery, Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the School of Medicine and Carey Farquhar, Vice Dean for Education in the School of Public Health, will attend in support of the proposal.

3:00 - 3:30 pm

New Proposal: Doctor of Global Health

Council will consider a proposal from the Department of Global Health to offer a new Doctor of Global Health degree. Judy Wasserheit and Nancy Puttkammer will represent the Department of Global Health. John Slattery, Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Studies in the School of Medicine and Carey Farquhar, Vice Dean for Education in the School of Public Health, will attend in support of the proposal.

3:30 - 4 pm

New Proposal: Master of Science in Genetic Counseling 30m

Council will consider a proposal from the Department of Medicine to offer a new Master of Science in Genetic Counseling. Robin Bennett, Brad Rolf, Gail Jarvik, and Karin Borgerson will attend to represent the Department of Medicine. Suzanne Allen, Vice Dean for Academic, Rural and Regional Affairs in the School of Medicine, will attend in support of the proposal.

4 pm

Lookahead to December 5

4:00 pm **Policy Committee Convenes**

4:00 – 4:30 pm **Graduate School Memo 4** (Kima Cargill)

4:30 pm **Lookahead to December 5 Meeting**

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Rovy Branon, Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate

- 5. Mark Richards, Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Mary E. Lidstrom, Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty