WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award

2019 Call for Internal UW Nominations

The deadlines for the Graduate School’s 2019 Distinguished Dissertation Award, Distinguished Thesis Award, and the WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award have all passed.

Deadlines for next year’s competition cycle will be announced early March 2019.

Any questions about these awards should be directed to

Jerry Pangilinan
Assistant to the Vice Provost and Dean, the Graduate School

UW Recipients

The Graduate School is pleased to recognize UW recipients of the WAGS/UMI Innovation in Technology Award:


Dr. Morgan Dixon, Computer Science & Engineering:  “Pixel-Based Reverse Engineering of Graphical Interfaces”


Dr. Sidhant Gupta, Computer Science & Engineering:  “ElectriSense: Single-Point Sensing Using EMI for Electrical Event Detection and Classification in the Home


Dr. Lucas Ting, Mechanical Engineering:  “Flow Mechanotransduction Response in Endothelial Cell Monolayers and Platelets”


Dr. Tapan Parikh, Computer Science & Engineering:  “Designing an Architecture for Delivering Mobile Information Services to the Rural Developing World”