

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

October 17, 2019

To:	Shima Abadi	Assistant Professor – UW Bothell – School of STEM
	Anirban Basu	Professor – School of Pharmacy
	Eliot Brenowitz	Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
	Elizabeth Buffalo	Associate Professor – School of Medicine
	Betsy Evans	Associate Professor – Associate Professor – College of Arts & Sciences – Humanities Division
	Amy Hagopian	Professor – School of Public Health
	Susan Harewood	Associate Professor – UW Bothell – School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences
	Anne Hirsch	Associate Professor – School of Nursing
	Brinda Jegatheesan	Associate Professor – College of Education
	Kalei Kanuha	Senior Lecturer & Asst Dean – School of Social Work
	Patricia Kuszler	Professor – School of Law
	Ken-Yu Lin	Associate Professor – College of Built Environments
	Mark Long	Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance
	William McGuire	Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
	Rene Overney	Professor – College of Engineering
	Tracy Popowics	Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
	David Raible	Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs
	Emma Spiro	Assistant Professor – Information School
	Riki Thompson	Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
	Patrick Tobin	Associate Professor – College of the Environment
	Dan Turner	Associate Dean – Michael G. Foster School of Business
	Mohamed Ali	Director of Graduate Studies – UW Tacoma – ex-officio
	Giuliana Conti	President – GPSS ex-officio
	Tony English	Academic Partnership Management Director – Continuum College – ex-officio
	Nancy Huling	Head, Reference & Research Services Division – UW Libraries – ex-officio
	Matt McKeown	Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio
	Gino Aisenberg	Associate Dean for Diversity and Student Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio
	William Mahoney	Associate Dean for Student and Postdoctoral Affairs – Graduate School – ex officio
From:	Joy Williamson-Lott	Dean of the Graduate School
	Kima Cargill	Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean of the Graduate School

AGENDA

Graduate School Council Meeting for Thursday, October 17, 2019 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm - HUB 332

College of Arts & Sciences - Department of American Indian Studies - Graduate 2:30 - 3:00 pm Certificate in American Indian and Indigenous Studies - New Proposal Council will consider a proposal from the Department of American Indian Studies to offer a new Graduate Certificate in American Indian and Indigenous Studies. Jean Dennison and Dian Million will represent the Department of American Indian Studies. George Lovell, Divisional Dean for Social Sciences in the College of Arts and Sciences, will attend in support of the proposal.

3:00 – 3:15 pm **Program Review Recommendations, Guidelines and Recusals**

3:15 – 3:30 pm	College of Arts & Sciences – Department of Classics – Program Review Council will consider the Academic Program Review of the Department of Classics. Will McGuire will present the summary report.
3:30 – 3:40 pm	Discussion on Council Members Reporting Back to Units
3:40 pm	Lookahead to November 7 Meeting
3:40 pm	Policy Committee Convenes*
3:40 – 3:50 pm	Orientation for Policy Committee Members (Kima Cargill)
3:50 – 4:00 pm	Overview of active proposals (David Canfield-Budde)
4:00 pm	Lookahead to November 21 Meeting

*The October 17, 2019 Policy Committee requires no advance review of materials

Informational copies to:

Ana Mari Cauce, President
Rovy Branon, Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
Chair, Faculty Senate

5. Mark Richards, Provost and Executive Vice President

6. Mary E. Lidstrom, Vice Provost for Research

7. Deans of Colleges and Schools

8. Secretary of the Faculty