UW Graduate School

NME Students

Ayda Apa Pomeshikov
ayda@uw.edu
Research Interests: Refugee and forced migration studies, humanitarianism and human rights, Islamic NGOs, Muslim diasporas
Esra Bakkalbasioglu
esrab@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “(Infra)structuring State-Minority Relations:  Regional Development Relations in the Peripheries of Israel and Turkey”
academia.edu link
William Bamber
wbamber@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2016)
Dissertation Title: “’Let them wear fezzes, a sherwani and boots’: Consumption, anti-Westernism and the Politics of Male Dress between Ottoman Turkey and South Asia, 1876-1908”
academia.edu link
Canan Bolel
cananbo@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2017)
Dissertation Title: “On the Margins of an Ottoman City:  Politics of Exclusion in the Jewish Community of Izmir, 1847-1923”
academia.edu link
Vincent Calvetti-Wolf
calvetti@uw.edu
Research Interests: Mizrahi social movements; Zionism; race, ethnicity and nationalism in Israel/Palestine; Jewish diasporas; anthropologies of the state; political theology; migration studies; class stratification in Israel
academia.edu link
melinda-cohoon Melinda Cohoon
mecohoon@uw.edu

Research Interests: Digital Middle Eastern communities and Syrian diaspora gamers via Twitch.TV; perceptions, (de)constructing narratives, and education from the Middle Eastern historical content in ‘turn-based’ and ‘real-time’ video games
academia.edu link
Michael Degerald
mkd22@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2015)
Dissertation Title: “The Legibility of Power and Culture in Ba’thist Iraq: 1968-1991”
academia.edu link
Gozde Burcu Ege
burcuege@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2017)
Dissertation Title: “From Crises to Ordinary Precarity: Urban Encampments of Palestinian Refugee Youth under New Humanitarian Governance in Amman, Jordan”
Anat Goldman
anatg@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2013)
Dissertation Title: “Making Desired (and Undesired) Citizens:  Reshaping Identities and Nation Building in Israel and Turkey”
academia.edu link
Jennifer Hunter
jrh259@uw.edu

Research Interests: Late antique Christianity; the multi-religious and multi-cultural environment of the Roman and Sasanian empires; women, sex, and gender; material culture and ritual practices including ‘magic’, theurgy, and the cult of the saints; ritualization of marriage and conception; theory and methods of ritual studies.
Mehmet Kentel
kentel@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “Assembling ‘Cosmopolitanism’: Making Modern Pera through Infrastructure in the Late Ottoman Constantinople”
academia.edu link
Marwa Maziad
marwa@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “Oscillating Civil-military Relations in Democratizing Societies:  the Military in State and Society, Case Studies of Egypt, Turkey, and Israel 1980–2015”
academia.edu link
Ayse Nal
aysenal@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2015)
Dissertation Title: “Rural environmental resistance movements in Turkey and Indonesia”
Roman Pomeshchikov
romanpom@uw.edu
Research Interests: State-society relations, electronic governance, development in Turkic countries
Maral Sahebjame
marals@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2018)
Research Interests: Exploring contemporary narratives of marriage in the Islamic Republic of Iran, focusing in particular on “white marriage”
Michael Sims
simsmb@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2016)
Dissertation Title: “‘Without a Purpose, Misfortune will Befall Our Land’: Discourses of Nation in Late Ottoman Kurdistan”
Pelin Tunaydin
pelint@uw.edu
Research Interests: Ethnicity and nationalism; comparative ethnic histories; the governance of difference in the Turkish nation-building paradigm; Romani citizenship, belonging, and identity in the transition from empire to republic
academia.edu link