UW Graduate School

NME Students

Oscar Aguirre Mandujano
oscaragm@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2013)
Dissertation Title: “Poetry and Politics in the Early Modern Ottoman World:  the Court of Bayezid II (r. 1481—1512)”
academia.edu link
no-photo-150 Ayda Apa Pomeshikov
ayda@uw.edu

Research Interests: Transcultural diaspora and migration studies, cultural identity and memory
Esra Bakkalbasioglu
esrab@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “(Infra)structuring State-Minority Relations:  Regional Development Relations in the Peripheries of Israel and Turkey”
academia.edu link
William Bamber
wbamber@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2016)
Dissertation Title: “’Let them wear fezzes, a sherwani and boots’: Consumption, anti-Westernism and the Politics of Male Dress between Ottoman Turkey and South Asia, 1876-1908”
academia.edu link
Canan Bolel
cananbo@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2017)

 

Dissertation Title: “On the Margins of an Ottoman City:  Politics of Exclusion in the Jewish Community of Ismir, 1847-1923”
academia.edu link
Michael Degerald
mkd22@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2015)
Dissertation Title: “History from Ba’thist Pens: How the Iraqi Ba’th tried to rewrite Iraqi history to reshape national identity, 1968-1991”
academia.edu link
Gozde Burcu Ege
burcuege@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2017)
Dissertation Title: “From Crises to Ordinary Precarity: Urban Encampments of Palestinian Refugee Youth under New Humanitarian Governance in Amman, Jordan”
Anat Goldman
anatg@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2013)
Dissertation Title: “Making Desired (and Undesired) Citizens:  Reshaping Identities and Nation Building in Israel and Turkey”
academia.edu link
Mehmet Kentel
kentel@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “Assembling ‘Cosmopolitanism’: Making Modern Pera through Infrastructure in the Late Ottoman Constantinople”
academia.edu link
Marwa Maziad
marwa@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “Oscillating Civil-military Relations in Democratizing Societies:  the Military in State and Society, Case Studies of Egypt, Turkey, and Israel 1980–2015”
academia.edu link
Jeanene Mitchell
jmm2170@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2014)
Dissertation Title: “At the Confluence (of Transnational and Local Actors):  Transboundary Water Management in the Kura River Basin”
academia.edu link
Ayse Nal
aysenal@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2015)
Dissertation Title: “Rural environmental resistance movements in Turkey and Indonesia”
Akbar Rahel
arahel@uw.edu
Research Interests: Shia Rights Mobilization in Afghanistan; Islamic Law; Law and Society; Constitutions; Modern Middle East; Afghanistan; Iran
no-photo-150 Maral Sahebjame
marals@uw.edu
Research Interests: Exploring contemporary narratives of marriage in the Islamic Republic of Iran, focusing in particular on “white marriage”
no-photo-150 Michael Sims
simsmb@uw.edu
(Ph.C., 2016)
Dissertation Title: “‘Without a Purpose, Misfortune will Befall Our Land’:  Discourses of Nation in Late Ottoman Kurdistan”
Pelin Tunaydin
pelint@uw.edu
Research Interests: Ethnicity and nationalism; comparative ethnic histories; the governance of difference in the Turkish nation-building paradigm; Romani citizenship, belonging, and identity in the transition from empire to republic
academia.edu link