UW Graduate School

NME Faculty

Mika Ahuvia, (Ph.D., Religion, Princeton, 2014), Assistant Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS), Jewish Studies and Comparative Religion; adjunct in Gender, Women, and Sexuality Studies, Near Eastern Languages and Civilizations, and Classical Studies;
Research and Teaching Interests: history of the Jewish people, formative history of Jewish and Christian communities in the ancient Mediterranean world, biblical texts and women’s religious history, social movements and radicalism
mahuvia@uw.edu
Samad Alavi (Ph.D., Persian Languages & Literature, UC-Berkeley, 2014), Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: Persian language and literature, modern Iran, poetry, modernist aesthetics, translation studies
salavi@uw.edu
Walter Andrews (Ph.D., Turkish Languages & Literature, Michigan, 1970), Research Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: Turkish Language and Literature
walter@uw.edu
Arbella Bet-Shlimon (Ph.D., History, Harvard, 2012), Assistant Professor, History;
Research and Teaching Interests:  modern Middle East history, Iraq, the Gulf, urban history, and oil in the Middle East
shlimon@uw.edu
Elena Campbell (Ph.D. [equivalent], History, Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Russian History, 1999), Associate Professor, History;
Research and Teaching Interests: empire, religion and nationalism in late Imperial Russia
eicampb@uw.edu
Daniel Chirot (Ph.D., Sociology, Columbia, 1973), Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS) & Sociology;
Research and Teaching Interests: causes of ethnic conflict and its solutions
chirot@uw.edu
Karam Dana (Ph.D., Interdisciplinary Near and Middle Eastern Studies, Washington, 2009), Assistant Professor, School of Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences, UW Bothell;
Research and Teaching Interests: how religion influences political identities in different cultural and societal contexts
kdana@uwb.edu
Terri DeYoung (Ph.D., Arabic Languages & Literature, California-Berkeley, 1988), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests:  Arabic languages and literature
tdeyoung@uw.edu
PurnimaDhavan Purnima Dhavan, (Ph.D., South Asian History, University of Virginia, 2003), Associate Professor, History;
Research and Teaching Interests: Comparative gender, medicine, science and technology, South Asia
pdhavan@uw.edu
Hussein Elkhafaifi (Ph.D., Arabic Languages & Literature, Utah, 1985) Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: Arabic languages and literature
hme3@uw.edu
Kathie Friedman (Ph.D., Sociology, SUNY, Binghamton, 1991), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research and Teaching Interests: Refugee and forced migration studies; social and political integration of immigrants and their children
friedman@uw.edu
Resat Kasaba (Ph.D., Sociology, SUNY-Binghamton, 1986), Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS)  & Director, JSIS;
Research and Teaching Interests: Ottoman Empire and Modern Turkey
kasaba@uw.edu
Selim S. Kuru (Ph.D., Ottoman & Turkish Literature, Harvard, 2000), Associate Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC)  & Department Chair, NELC;
Research and Teaching Interests: history of sexuality and organization of gender among Ottoman urban communities through a study of Turkish pre-modern textualities with a focus on poetry and poetics
selims@uw.edu
Clark B. Lombardi (Ph.D., Religion, Columbia, 2001, J.D., Law, 1998), Associate Professor, School of Law;
Research and Teaching Interests: Islamic legal systems, comparative constitutionalism and particularly the way that constitutional systems deal with religious organizations and religious law
lombardi@uw.edu
James Long (Ph.D., Political Science, UC San Diego, 2012), Assistant Professor, Political Science;
Research and Teaching Interests: elections in fragile and developing countries (in sub-Saharan Africa and Afghanistan), including the determinants of voting behavior and turnout, the dynamics of electoral fraud, the impact of ICT on corruption monitoring, the causes of electoral violence, and the effects of civil war and insurgency on state-building and development
jdlong@uw.edu
Brian McLaren (Ph.D., Architecture, MIT, 2001) Associate Professor, Architecture, College of the Built Environment;
Research and Teaching Interests:  history and theory of architecture, western colonialism in Africa and the Middle East
bmclaren@uw.edu
Victor Menaldo (Ph.D., Political Science, Stanford University, 2009), Associate Professor, Political Science;
Research and Teaching Interests: comparative politics and political economy of economic development
vmenaldo@uw.edu
Joel Migdal (Ph.D., Political Science, Harvard, 1972), Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research and Teaching Interests: state and society in the Third World, Middle East politics
migdal@uw.edu
Devin E. Naar (Ph.D., History, Stanford, 2011), Associate Professor, History & Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS) & Chair, Sephardic Studies Program;
Research and Teaching Interests: Modern European Jewish History, Sephardic Jewry
denaar@uw.edu
Scott Noegel (Ph.D., Near Eastern Studies, Cornell, 1995), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: Hebrew Bible, Northwest Semitic languages and literature, Assyriology, Hieroglyphic Egyptian, and Medieval Hebrew poetics
snoegel@uw.edu
Arzoo Osanloo (Ph.D., Anthropology, Stanford, 2002; J.D., Law, American University, 1993), Associate Professor, Anthropology & Law, Societies, and Justice Program & Director, Middle East Center;
Research and Teaching Interests: anthropology of law, transnational law, Islam particularly in Iran, Pakistan, and the U.S., Islam and women’s studies
aosanloo@uw.edu
Michael Vicente Perez (Ph.D., Anthropology, Michigan State University, 2011),  Senior Lecturer, Anthropology;
Research and Teaching Interests: nationalism, ethnicity, and religion; transnational migration, displacement, and refugees; diaspora; Muslim politics; human rights; memory and violence
mvperez@uw.edu
Noam Pianko (Ph.D., Religious Studies/Judaic Studies, Yale, 2004), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS) & Director, Stroum Center for Jewish Studies;
Research and Teaching Interests: American Jewish History, History of Jewish Nationalism, Modern Jewish thought
npianko@uw.edu
Scott Radnitz (Ph.D., Political Science, MIT, 2007), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research and Teaching Interests: protests, authoritarianism, informal networks, and identity
srad@uw.edu
Cabeiri deBergh Robinson (Ph.D., Anthropology, Cornell, 2005), Associate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS) & Anthropology, & Director, Interdisciplinary Ph.D. Program in Near & Middle Eastern Studies;
Research and Teaching Interests: political Islam, refugees and forced migration; human rights and humanitarianism, gender and masculinity, anthropology of religious and political violence, Islam particularly in Pakistan, India, Kashmir, Afghanistan and US
cdr33@uw.edu
Haideh Salehi-Esfahani (Ph.D., Economics, U. Pennsylvania 1985), Principal Lecturer, Economics;
Research and Teaching Interests: international economics, economic development
haideh@uw.edu
Naomi Sokoloff (Ph.D., Comparative Literature, Princeton, 1980), Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: modern Hebrew language and literature
naosok@uw.edu
Joel Walker (Ph.D., History, Princeton, 1998), Associate Professor, History;
Research and Teaching Interests: Late Antique Middle East, especially the Sasanian Empire (224-651) and Syriac Christianity; the Mongol Empire; animal-human relations
jwalker@uw.edu
Michael Williams (Ph.D., Religion, Harvard, 1977), Professor, Comparative Religion, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research and Teaching Interests: early Christianity and religions of antiquity; heterodox religious movements; alternative cosmological myths and social behaviors
maw@uw.edu
Hamza Zafer (Ph.D., Near Eastern Studies, Cornell, 2013), Assistant Professor, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research and Teaching Interests: early Islamic period, textural studies, Islamics, Qur’an
hmzafer@uw.edu

Affiliated Faculty

no-photo-150 Michael Meeker (Ph.D., Anthropology, U of Chicago, 1970), Affiliate Professor, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research and Teaching Interests: cultural anthropology, Turkey, Arabia, the Maghreb, American popular culture, literary representations and political experience
mmeeker@uw.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Jere Bacharach (Ph.D., History, Michigan, 1967), Professor Emeritus, History;
Research Interests: the Islamic Middle East
jere@uw.edu
Gad Barzilai (Ph.D., Political Science, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, 1987), Professor Emeritus, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research Interests: political science and law; politics, law, state and society
gbarzil@uw.edu
Ilse Cirtautas (Ph.D., Turkology,  University of Hamburg, 1958), Professor Emeritus, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research Interests: Central Asian Turkic languages and literature
icirt@uw.edu
Nicholas Heer (Ph.D., Oriental Studies, Princeton, 1955), Professor Emeritus, Near Eastern Languages and Civilization (NELC);
Research Interests:  Arabic language and literature, Islamic theology and philosophy
heer@uw.edu
Martin Jaffee (Ph.D., Religious Studies, Brown, 1980), Professor Emeritus, Comparative Religion, Jackson School of International Studies (JSIS);
Research Interests: Judaism in late antiquity
jaffee@uw.edu
James W. Murray (Ph.D., Chemical Oceanography, MIT, 1973), Professor Emeritus, Oceanography, College of the Environment;
Research Interests: chemical oceanography in the Black Sea and eastern tropical Pacific
jmurray@uw.edu
Philip Schuyler (Ph.D., Music, U.W., 1979), Associate Professor Emeritus, School of Music/Ethnomusicology;
Research Interests: ethnography of performance, Middle East, Africa, Arab world
pds2@uw.edu